医疗方案

膝关节置换术

为什么国际骨科诊所是我的首选?
张天龙医生是一名经验丰富的关节置换术外科医生。他在英国伦敦接受外科手术的专业培训,专攻关节置换术和翻修手术。他也擅长于机器人手术和电脑导航手术。

关节置换术
全膝关节置换术(TKR)能有效地治疗由骨关节炎、类风湿性关节炎或创伤后关节炎所引起的膝关节疼痛和畸形。全膝关节置换术也是全球最常被采用的骨科手术之一,它可以显著地提高病患的生活质量。

在全膝关节置换术中,医生会通过膝盖前部的切口,取下磨损的膝盖骨,然后装嵌金属和塑料制成的人工关节取而代之。

年轻病患或者是疼痛只集中在部分膝关节的病患较适合进行部分膝关节置换术(UKR)。这项手术可以由机器人从旁辅助完成(请参阅网站有关“手术机器人”的部分)。

膝关节疼痛的原因
骨关节炎 – 它是一种退行性关节炎,随着年龄的增长,关节软骨持续性病变,结果导致软骨和膝关节僵硬和畸形。它一般发生在50岁以上的病患身上,但也有可能发生在年轻人身上。年轻病患较适合采用部分膝关节置换术(UKR)来解决问题。

类风湿性关节炎 – 它是一种自身免疫性疾病,由于膝关节内层发炎(滑膜炎),而导致关节被破坏。这种疾病会影响体内许多关节和身体器官的运作,年轻人也可能患上。此外,它属于一系列被称为“炎性关节病”当中的一种,并可在风湿病学家(关节医疗专家)的帮助下进行治疗。

创伤性关节炎 – 软骨受创或骨折后的结果。随着时间的推移,更多的软骨可能会损坏,并发生退行性变化。

我适合做膝关节置换术吗?
如果您的膝盖疼痛得很厉害,使您无法正常走路或爬楼梯,夜间疼痛明显,那么您应该适合进行全膝关节置换术或部分膝关节置换术。此外,如果您的膝盖僵硬变形,尝试服用止痛药、做物理治疗,甚至在膝关节接受药物注射(如类固醇或透明质酸注射)后却仍然无法治愈,那么您下一步的行动应该是接受全膝关节置换术。

问诊时,医生会详细了解您的病史并替您做身体检查,以评估关节疾病的严重程度,还有排除任何转移自髋部和脊柱的疼痛。您将接受膝部负重X光检查,以准确评估关节损伤的程度。需接受机器人手术或其他疗程的病患也可能要做CT扫描。我们将与您仔细讨论这些方案具有的风险和好处,以及长远的预期与安排。建议您在此时提出任何相关疑问,并向医生表达您对骨科手术的恐惧和担忧。也请您带上一位好友或近亲,好让您和您的家人都能充分了解手术的相关内容和做好心理准备,并对手术产生合理的期望。

如果病患患有活动性感染、膝关节没有知觉、大腿肌肉(股四头肌)肌肉功能差,或是其他像是腿部血管疾病(动脉阻塞和周围血管疾病)的严重病症,那他可能不适合进行TSKR或UKR治疗,或是在手术前先接受药物治疗。

我是否年龄太大,不适合进行膝关节置换术?
病患家属经常问我这个问题。答案是不会——这取决于您的整体健康状况以及您是否能从手术中获益。年龄绝对不是个问题。

年长者因膝关节劳损的岁月较长,更有机会需要关节置换术。我曾替不少年过90的病患置换过膝盖,而他们在余生中都不再受到膝盖疼痛的困扰。

年轻病患方面,我也治疗了不少40多岁的病患。他们的部分膝盖严重受损,最后通过部分或全部膝盖置换术来解决问题。

只要理由充分,所有成年人都适合做膝关节置换术。

全膝关节置换术和部分膝关节置换术之间有什么区别?
膝关节可分为三个主要部分——膝盖内侧(内侧间室)、膝盖外侧(外侧间室)和膝盖骨与大腿骨(髌股关节)之间的空间。

适合进行TKR 的病患可能在这三个部分内都有软骨受损,骨关节严重畸形、韧带损伤或关节发炎的情况。

适合进行UKR的病患则可能只在一个部分有局部关节疾病。

这两种手术都可以使用机器人系统(如MAKOplasty, Navio or Robodoc)实施,精准度绝佳。

与TKR相比,UKR的一些优势就包括:切口小、组织损伤和手术后的疼痛较少、失血少、恢复快,手术后的活动范围也较大。

我是否应该同时置换双膝?
两边膝关节都磨损的病患,可以同时置换双膝(双侧关节置换)。置换双膝意味手术和麻醉的时间更长,产生并发症的风险也相对提高。此外,恢复期也会比动部分膝关节置换术来得稍长。然而,这也表示您不必担心日后仍需要花时间来置换第二个膝盖,同时也避免了再次住院的费用。

膝关节置换术前
一旦您决定进行膝关节置换术,医生将检查您是否有任何其他病症需要先进行处理。之后,您会被安排进行一系列的造影检查,如胸部X光、心电图和血液化验。我也会建议您马上戒烟,并在手术日的前两周停止服用抗凝血剂和中药(可能引致出血)。手术期间,麻醉师会为您提供全身麻醉(在手术全程进入沉睡状态)或脊椎麻醉(注射药物到脊椎使腿部麻木),让您在手术过程中不会有任何感觉。出于安全考量,病患在手术前8小时不可以进食或喝任何饮料。

手术过程

微创膝关节置换术
我会尽量通过一个小切口(大约10厘米或更小)来进行关节置换,但复杂和翻修病例可能不适合进行微创手术。手术期间,我也会小心处理各人体组织。

手术过程中,我会从大腿骨(股骨)和胫骨移除受损的关节表面,再小心平衡软组织,使膝盖在整个活动范围内可以保持平稳。接着,我会把金属植入物(通常是钴铬合金)粘附在骨头上,替代关节表面。最后,我会在两个金属表面之间放置一个塑料衬垫(高度交联的聚乙烯),以允许顺畅的滑动动作并减少摩擦。

我会在手术中使用一种称之为“局部浸润麻醉”的医疗技术,将局部麻醉剂注射到被切割组织中。这大大提高病患迅速康复的机会。

我深切明白病患的主要恐惧来自于疼痛。我总是尽我所能,确保手术后病患的疼痛减至最低。也因为这样,大多数的病患在手术后的数小时内已能够站立和行走。

膝关节置换术后立即可预期的
膝关节置换术通常不到一个小时就能完成。手术后,您将被转到康复区接受数小时的密切观察,直到您适合转到普通病房为止。

我的目标是尽量让病患在手术后立即能够站立和行走。我会和物理治疗团队密切合作,遵循“术后强化恢复”程序,让病患在手术后的第1天就可以开始物理治疗。最终目的是让病患在手术的第3天或之前出院。

手术后的潜在并发症
所有的外科手术都存在风险和并发症的可能性。幸运的是,风险一般都很低。手术后可能会出现暂时性的疼痛、肿胀、瘀伤和僵硬。您可以吃药止痛。关节置换术后最需要关切的问题是受到感染(约1%风险),所以我们会格外小心,无论是术前或术后,都是以打点滴的方式把抗生素注入体内,降低受感染的风险,。至于较不常见的腿部血栓(深静脉血栓形成)或肺部血栓(肺栓塞),我们会采用机械脚踏泵、服用抗凝血剂等预防措施来降低风险。您的外科医生会与您深入探讨手术的潜在风险。

膝关节置换术后的康复期
一般上,伤口需要2周时间才能愈合,因此在这段时间内,病患务必要保持伤口的清洁与干爽。手术后的数周内,病患可能需要使用拐杖或助行器。此外,病患也必需遵循医生的指示活动膝关节并接受物理治疗,这样才能让手术发挥最佳效果。

大多数病患可以在膝关节置换术后6周再度开车。我会建议病患手术后至少6周不要进行长途飞行,以降低腿部血栓(深静脉血栓)或肺部血栓(肺栓塞)的风险。视个别病患的职业性质而定,有些接受UKR治疗的病患可在6周或更早的时候回返工作岗位。接受全膝关节置换术的病患则通常需要更长的时间才能康复。根据我以往的经验,他们平均需要6至12周时间,当然其中也有例外。

在手术后的几天和几周内,您将需要复诊,让诊所人员跟进和密切留意您的进展和整体健康状况,以及您是否有任何并发症。

我的目标是通过关节置换术来减轻您的痛楚,并让您恢复活动能力。虽然要完全康复需要时间与努力,但大多数病患都成功做到这一点。

饱受运动伤害的疼痛煎熬?

张天龙医生是一名骨外科顾问医生,擅长医治运动损伤,如韧带和肌腱撕裂,膝、髋和肩的软骨损伤,成人关节重建(包括全膝和部分膝关节置换术),骨关节炎的全髋关节置换术,以及机器人手术(MAKOplasty、Navio和Robodoc系统)。他也在创伤(修复骨折)和骨关节肌肉肿瘤(骨癌)手术方面受过广泛的专业培训。

Top

procedures

Knee Replacement Surgery

Knee Replacement Surgery
Make Dr Alan Cheung Your Preferred Knee Surgeon
Committed to understanding your conditions and needs, Dr Cheung provides dedicated knee treatment plans to ensure your smooth recovery.
  • British Trained Surgeon
  • Experienced & Skilful in Joint Reconstruction
  • Expert in Robotic Knee Replacement Surgery

 

What is Total Knee Replacement Surgery?

Total Knee Replacement (TKR) is an effective solution to consider for knee pain and deformity due to Osteoarthritis, Rheumatoid or Post-Traumatic Arthritis. TKR is one of the most common orthopaedic surgeries performed worldwide and can lead to dramatic improvement in quality of life.

During a TKR, the worn surface of the knee is taken away and replaced with metal and plastic components through an incision at the front of the knee.

Younger patients or those with pain localized to part of the knee joint may be suitable for a Unicompartmental Knee Replacement (UKR). This surgery may be performed using a robot (see Robotic Surgery section on website).

What Can Knee Replacement Surgery Treat?

Osteoarthritis

– degenerative age-related wear and tear, leading to loss of cartilage, knee stiffness and deformity. This usually occurs in patients over 50 years of age, but may occur in younger patients. Younger patients may be more suitable for a Unicompartmental Knee Replacement (UKR).

Rheumatoid Arthritis

– an autoimmune disease causing inflammation of the lining of the knee joint (synovitis) leading to joint destruction. This may affect many joints and body organs, and may occur in younger patients. It is part of a spectrum of conditions called ‘inflammatory arthropathies’ and is treated with the help of a Rheumatologist.

Post-Traumatic Arthritis

– This can follow an injury to the cartilage or fracture of the bone. Over time more cartilage may be lost and degenerative change can occur.

Who Needs a Knee Replacement?

Knee replacements are commonly recommended for patients with severe arthritis when the pain has become debilitating and the patient is unable to perform basic actions (e.g. walking) with ease. Knee replacement surgeries are commonly performed on older patients aged 50 to 80.

What are the Types of Knee Replacement Surgery?

  • Total Knee Replacement Surgery - This is performed when the knee joint is severely damaged (usually due to advanced osteoarthritis and other joint disease) and needs to be completely replaced with artificial components; usually through a long incision at the front of the knee.
  • Unicompartmental (Partial) Knee Replacement - This procedure only requires the damaged compartment of the knee to be replaced, while the healthy components are preserved. In suitable cases, this can be performed via minimally invasive techniques.
  • Kneecap Replacement (Patellofemoral Arthroplasty) - This procedure is also considered a partial knee replacement as it involves the replacement of just the patellofemoral (kneecap) compartment of the knee.
  • Complex or Revision Knee Replacement – Some patients may require a revision knee replacement due to the wear and tear of the artificial implants over time; or when there has been a complication from a previous knee replacement (e.g. infection).

What are the Risks of a Knee Replacement?

Even though knee replacement surgeries are some of the most well-established and effective surgical procedures, it still comes with certain risks that the surgeon will need to properly manage and watch out for:
  • Blood clots - Blood clots usually occur in the leg. The doctor may recommend blood-thinning medications to lower the risk of a blood clot forming.
  • Infection - Although rare, some patients may develop an infection on the incision site or deeper within the wound.
  • Implant problems - Implants are typically last for about 15-20 years, and can also wear away over time. Hence, revision surgeries may be necessary at some point.
  • Continued pain or stiffness – Although rare, some patients may still feel pain or stiffness even after a knee replacement.

How is the Type of Knee Implant Chosen?

There are many types and brands of knee implants available in the market; and the type of knee implant that your surgeon chooses will depend on the following factors:
  • The anatomy of your knee
  • The type and severity of damage to your knee
  • Your age, weight, overall health and activity level
  • The track record of the implant’s quality
  • Your surgeon’s experience with the implant

Recovering from a Knee Replacement Surgery

It is normal to experience some pain after surgery, especially when the anaesthesia wears off. The orthopaedic surgeon will prescribe pain medications to alleviate the pain, advise you on proper wound care, as well as have you undergo physiotherapy in order to rehabilitate your knee as soon as possible.

  • Am I Suitable For A Knee Replacement Surgery?

    If your knee pain is severe and you have difficulty in walking, stair climbing, and have pain at night, you may be a suitable candidate for TKR or UKR. You may also have a stiff and deformed knee. If you have tried taking pain killers, physiotherapy exercises and even knee joint injections (such as steroid or hyaluronic acid injections) without success then joint replacement may be the next step for you.

    At the consultation with your knee surgeon, a careful history and examination is taken to assess the severity of your joint disease, and to exclude pain referred from the hip and spine. You will have weightbearing X-rays of the knees to accurately assess the degree of joint damage. Some patients also undergo a CT scan if undergoing robotic surgery or even other surgery services. A careful discussion will be made with you regarding the risks and benefits of the procedure and what to expect in the long term. You should feel free to ask questions, and express any fears and concerns that you have regarding the orthopaedic surgery. Please bring a friend or close family member also, as my aim is to ensure that you and your family are well informed and prepared, and have realistic expectations regarding the surgery.

    Patients with active infection, lack of sensation at the knee joint, poor muscle function in their thigh muscles (quadriceps), as well as severe medical conditions such as blood vessel disease in the leg (arterial blockage and peripheral vascular disease) may not be suitable to undergo a TKR or UKR or may need to undergo medical knee treatment first.

  • Am I Too Old For Knee Replacement?

    I am commonly asked this question by relatives of patients. The answer is no – it depends on your general health and what you can gain from the surgery, rather than your absolute age.

    Older people tend to suffer more from a worn out knee joint and therefore are more likely to need a joint replacement. I have replaced the knee joints of patients over 90 years of age, who went on to enjoy their remaining years without knee pain.

    With the regards to younger patients, I have also treated patients in their 40’s have who severely worn out parts of their knees and have benefited from a partial or total knee replacement.

    Knee Replacement Surgery for the right reasons can be suitable for all adult age groups.

  • What Is The Difference Between A Total Knee Replacement And A Unicompartmental Knee Replacement?

    The knee joint can be divided into three compartments – the inside of the knee (medial compartment), the outside of the knee (lateral compartment) and the space between the kneecap and the thigh bone (patellofemoral joint).

    Patients suitable for TKR may have loss of cartilage in all three compartments, have severe deformity, ligamentous injury or inflammatory joint disease.

    Patients suitable for UKR may have localised joint disease in one compartment only.

    Both procedures can be performed with an excellent degree of accuracy using a robotic system such as Makoplasty, Navio or Robodoc.

    Some of the possible advantages of UKR over TKR include a smaller incision, less tissue damage and postoperative pain, less blood loss, faster recovery and return to work / sport, greater range of postoperative movement.

  • Should I Replace Both Knees At Once?

    For those with two worn out knees, replacing both sides at once (bilateral joint replacement) is an option. Replacing both knees means a longer operation and anaesthetic time, as well as increased risk of complications. Recovery is slightly longer than having one knee replaced. However it does mean that you do not have to worry about about having to take more time off in future to have the second knee replaced and also avoid the cost of a second hospitalisation.

  • What to Expect Before Knee Replacement Surgery?

    Once you have decided to have a knee replacement surgery, you will be screened for any medical conditions that may need treating, and undergo a series of tests such as a chest X-ray, Electrocardiogram and blood tests. You should stop smoking immediately. You are advised to stop blood thinning medications and TCM herbs (which may also cause bleeding) two weeks before your operation. The anaesthetist may offer you either a General Anaesthetic (where you are asleep during the procedure) or a Spinal Anaesthetic (injection to the spine which numbs the legs). You will not feel anything during the operation. On the day of surgery, for safety reasons it is important not to eat or drink anything 8 hours before the procedure.

  • What Happens During Minimally Invasive Knee Replacement Surgery?

    Whenever possible, I perform my joint replacements through a small incision (around 10cm or less). Complex and revision cases may not be suitable for minimally invasive knee surgery. The body tissues are handled very gently during surgery.

    During the procedure I remove the worn joint surfaces from the thigh bone (femur) and shin bone (tibia). I take care to balance the soft tissues so that the knee is stable throughout the range of movement. I replace the joint surface with metal implants (usually cobalt chrome alloy) which are cemented onto the bone. Finally a plastic liner (highly crosslinked polyethylene) is placed between the two metal surfaces to allow a smooth gliding motion and reduce friction.

    During the surgery I use a technique called local infiltration anaesthesia which involves injecting a local anaesthetic into cut tissues. This combined with a improves chances for a swift recovery.

    I appreciate that pain is the main fear of patients, and I do my utmost to ensure that pain is minimised following surgery. As a result most of patients are able to stand and walk hours after surgery.

  • What To Expect Immediately After Following Surgery?

    Usually the knee replacement surgery takes less than an hour. Following the operation you will be transferred to the Recovery area where you will be monitored for several hours until fit for discharge back to the General Ward.

    Whenever possible I aim to get my patients standing and walking immediately following the surgery. I work closely with my physiotherapy colleagues to follow an ‘Enhanced Recovery’ Protocol so that patients start exercising on Day 1 of surgery. The eventual aim is for discharge from the ward on or before Day 3 of surgery.

  • What Are The Potential Complications Following Surgery?

    All surgical procedures have an element of risk and potential complications. Fortunately the risks are usually low. Commonly following surgery there may be temporary pain, swelling, bruising and stiffness. You will take medicine to relieve the pain. Infection is the main concern (around 1% risk) following joint replacement, and great care is taking during surgery to reduce this risk including being given antibiotics during after the surgery via a drip. A blood clot in the legs (Deep vein thrombosis) or lungs (pulmonary embolism) is less common, and precautions such as mechanical foot pumps and/or blood thinning medications are used to reduce your risk. You will have an in depth discussion with your knee surgeon regarding potential risks of surgery.

  • What Are The Recovery Process Following Surgery?

    The wound may take 2 weeks to heal and it is important to keep it clean and dry during this time. Patients may need to use crutches or walking aids for several weeks following surgery. It is very important to perform the knee exercises and attend physiotherapy to get the best out of your surgery.

    Most patients can drive six weeks following knee replacement. You are advised not to fly long haul for at least six weeks following the operation to reduce risk of blood clot in the legs (deep vein thrombosis) or lungs (pulmonary embolism). Patients undergoing UKR can sometimes return to work at six weeks or earlier depending upon their occupation. Patients undergoing total knee replacement often need longer to recover – on average between six to twelve weeks in my experience, although there are exceptions.

    In the days and weeks following surgery, you will be followed up closely in orthopaedic clinic, to monitor your progress, general wellbeing and to monitor for any complications that might occur.

    My aim is to relieve your pain and restore function to your limbs through joint replacement. Although it can take some time and effort to recover, most patients can achieve an excellent result.

  • How Painful is a Knee Replacement?

    The level of pain varies from person to person and is subjective. Nonetheless, you will be given pain relief medications to help manage your pain. Together with physiotherapy, the amount of pain will quickly lessen as you recover.

  • What is the Best Exercise After Knee Replacement?

    Walking is one of the best exercises to aid in recovery. You should also follow your physiotherapist’s advice which will help you regain strength and range of motion as soon as possible.

  • Can I Lead a Normal Life After Knee Replacement?

    Yes, absolutely. As long as you follow your aftercare instructions and rehabilitation properly, you should be able to return to their normal activities after about six to eight weeks; while full recovery can range from six months to a year.

  • Can I Avoid or Postpone a Knee Replacement?

    As a knee replacement is recommended as a last resort, it will generally not be advisable to delay the treatment against your doctor’s recommendation. However, should you have any existing risk factors that may complicate the procedure, your doctor may recommend that you hold off the surgery until the risks have been properly addressed.

  • How Long does a Knee Replacement Last?

    Knee replacement implants typically last for around 15-20 years. However, there may be differences depending on the type and brand of implant, as well as individual factors.

Experiencing Knee Pain or A Knee Injury?

Dr Alan Cheung is a consultant orthopaedic surgeon specialising in knee replacement surgery and the treatment of knee injuries and knee pain. With advanced knowledge and technology at his fingertips, Dr Cheung is able to provide patients with a personalised knee injury and knee pain treatment, as well as a smooth recovery.

Top